Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
An enjoyable journey
September 9, 2013 / By Christine M. Holkan

Join Roy and his family as they embark on the adventure of a lifetime. Schmidt paints a glorious picture of island life including the struggles that it entails. Anyone familiar with the islands will delight in his tale. Anyone new to the islands will get a tiny taste of the life possible there. Win-win.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
Dream come true
September 8, 2013 / By Lila G.

Roy’s story is impressive… we should all be willing and able to act on a gut impression. And he stuck with it and saw it through for so long!! What would our lives be like if we all followed our dreams?
Such an easy to follow book, you can’t help but feel like you are living the dream along with Roy. A great vacation book… but it’s more than that too!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
The Challenges and Rewards of Following a Dream
August 12, 2013 / By Sage202

I love this book. It’s honest, interesting and inspiring. Roy makes it clear that his dream was fulfilling but challenging. Roy’s story is one of determination, resilience, struggle, compassion, joy and disappointment. I loved that he did not gloss over the challenges or tarnish the good memories with bad. Roy did a wonderful joy of capturing a complex experience. I really appreciated his honesty about alcohol, family, money and management. I was touched by his support of an injured employee.

Roy created a lovely little resort enjoyed by many. Pursuit of a dream is not for the faint of heart. Bravo to Roy for taking the reins of his life and living so fully. It was not a fairy tail, but then neither is taking the road more traveled. He took good care of his family and cared for his employees. He didn’t do everything perfectly, but none of us do. Bravo for all the good he did, and bravo for the honesty about the times he fell short. Bravo for taking the risk, living fully and sharing this great story!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
Wonderful Read!
July 25, 2013 / By Erika A.

What a fantastic read! Schmidt eloquently weaves together the parallel stories of developing Romora and his own personal life events. I particularly enjoyed how he manages to relay the various obstacles and inconveniences associated with starting a new resort in such a humorous tone. Absolutely wonderful! I highly recommend it for anyone in the hospitality industry!

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
Great book!
July 21, 2013 / By Jean K

Roy is a really gifted storyteller. Anyone who enjoys a story about someone who had the courage to follow their dream will enjoy this book. The characters he introduces you to are entertaining and his descriptions bring them to life. Pour a cold drink and sit down for a good read.

Knowing people from the islands and having traveled there makes this book that much more enjoyable. Don’t miss it.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
I was part of the dream , mentioned in the book several times. I enjoyed going down memory lane.
July 19, 2013 / By Robert A. Azzolin

Roy wrote it exactly how it happened. I was there for much of it. He captured all the humor and his descriptions of individuals could not have been better.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
Great summer read!
July 16, 2013 / By Carol

My Schmidt is quite the storyteller. His adventures as an owner of a resort on Harbour Island are very entertaining. Love this book.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
Great memories and experiences.,
July 15, 2013
By Laura A. R. Wingfield “whodunit”

My parents began going to Harbour Island and Romora Bay while I was in high school, and until my father became ill, they went to the island twice a year. Most of the people in this book are not only people they know but people they love. Roy is a very colorful man and a great storyteller so I can’t imagine this book will be anything but fun and fascinating. My mother is half way through and is loving it, there are actually stories she doesn’t know and my father was mentioned so I am getting my own copy to keep for the memories.

If you like quirky people, unspoiled islands and an insiders view, I think you’ll love this book. Sadly the island has changed a lot since Hollywood and Rock stars found it, but the people are wonderful and that hasn’t changed and the pink sand beach and turquoise waters are the same. I miss the island and it’s people all the time. I hope they tell stories about their wonderful Junkanoo parade at Christmas. Once you read it, you’ll want to go.

 

5.0 out of 5 stars
Love the book!
July 11, 2013 / By bettyjo01

What a great book for out Island life. I spent a lot of time at this island; it is a dream life for anyone to stay there…much less have a resort. Challenges with every day work…resources limited but the love of the place drives one to succeed and stay. What a life…true life with this book.